Tuesday, November 11, 2008

Herbst9 - The Gods Are Small Birds, But I Am The Falcon [2008]

1 The Laments Begin (5:58)
2 Must I Die? (Because Of My Holy Songs) (7:15)
3 Threshold Of Tears (5:47)
4 Enenuru (6:37)
5 The Gods Are Small Birds, But I Am The Falcon (8:08)
6 White Ashes (Black Smoke) (6:26)
7 ...And Everything Around Him Answered (7:37)
8 Shaking Ground (7:46)
9 Ilimmu (5:07)

The all new album of Herbst9 is a step further into the depths of the Assyrian and Asian mythologies, using authentic audio and visual fragments of sacrifices, lamentations, prayers and ancient rituals. The result is a deep labyrinth of sounds with meditative percussions, ghostly vocal fragments and singings which melts with detailed and multi-layered tones of various traditional instruments. All this is constructed around a core of dark and ongoing floating drones creating an atmosphere of true archaic music which has been developed by Herbst9 to perfection. This soundtrack is the secrecy from the deep and hidden places of the sacred earth transcending us beyond the real world to the inner realm of ourselves.
The CD is presented in 6-panel digipack.

"When humanity comes before you in awed silence at the terrifying radiance and tempest, you grasp the most terrible of all the divine powers. Because of you, the threshold of tears is opened, and people walk along the path of the house of great lamentations. With the lamenting balag drum a lament is struck up."



320 kbps

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

O, that's perfect, thank you. Long awaited album. Herbst9 is good as always.

Bookmark and Share