Thursday, June 12, 2008

Martyn Bates & Troum - To A Child Dancing In The Wind [2006]

1 Mad As The Mist And Snow #2 (12:59)
2 The Arrow (3:49)
3 The Magi (4:55)
4 I Made My Song (2:44)
5 To A Child Dancing In The Wind (4:18)
6 Mad Reprise (9:38)
For this release, the German ‘transcendental-drone’-duo TROUM teams up with the legendary British singer / songwriter and EYELESS IN GAZA-member MARTYN BATES. More than 2 years in the making, MARTYN BATES has sung & played (mouth organ & melodica) over basic material TROUM provided – consisting of harmonic minimal loops & basic song structures derived from accordeon, e-bass & guitar, percussion), who were then also responsible for the final subsequent additions mastering (adding more guitar-work, voices & balalaika).

MARTYN BATES has chosen to sing four poems of the famous Irish poet W.B.YEATS, and he did this with a most impressive sensitivity for TROUM'S very sublime & rather hidden harmonic structures. There are also two instrumentals in a more experimental style on this disc, one being a dark drone reprise of the main piece “MAD AS THE MIST AND SNOW #2”. MARTYN’s voice is surely not something for everyone – it’s of an extreme emotional & yearnful quality that might be not easy to stand – a yearning which is like a deep “cry out to the horizon”, to something that is unreachable per se, feeling a passion that tears you apart inside. This is pure emotional poetry transformed into yearnful audible spherics !


320 kbps

No comments:

Bookmark and Share